SIERRA COUNTY GOVERNMENT

Sheriff's Office

2501 S. Broadway
Truth or Consequences, NM 87901
Hours: Monday-Friday  8am-5pm

David Elston
Undersheriff
575-894-9150
delston@sierraco.org

Joshua Baker
Lieutenant
575-894-9150
jbaker@sierraco.org

Joel Trejo
Sergeant
575-894-9150
jtrejo@sierraco.org

Clay Cheney
Sergeant
575-894-9150
ccheney@sierraco.org

Greg McWhorter
Deputy - Investigator
575-894-9150
gmcwhorter@sierraco.org

Dina Juarez
Deputy - Civil Process
575-894-9150
djuarez@sierraco.org

John "Mike" Marta
Deputy - Prisoner Transport
575-894-9150
jmarta@sierraco.org

Justin Myers
Cadet
575-894-9150

Zachary Zavala
Cadet
575-894-9150
zzavala@sierraco.org

Brandon Torres
Deputy
575-894-9150
btorres@sierraco.org

Vincent Apodaca
Deputy
575-894-9150
vapodaca@sierraco.org

Robert Montoya
Deputy
575-894-9150
rmontoya@sierraco.org

Jose Marin
Deputy
575-894-9150
jmarin@sierrco.org

Barbara Hill
Executive Secretary
575-894-9150
bhill@sierraco.org

Brad Spencer
Information Specialist
575-894-9150
bspencer@sierraco.org

Sheriff's Office

Glenn Hamilton
Sheriff
575-894-9150
ghamilton@sierraco.org

Sheriff Hamilton was elected County Sheriff in 2014 and took office in 2015.

Sex Offender Registration
Monday through Friday
8:00 AM to 12:00 PM and 2:00 PM to 4:00 PM
   

Notice of Right to Inspect Public Records

MISSION STATEMENT

The Sierra County Sheriff's Office is committed to protecting the lives, property and Constitutional rights of all people, to maintaining order and to the fair and impartial enforcement of the law.  The Sierra County Sheriff's Office will work to accomplish this mission by setting goals and objectives and practicing the set values of this department.

The Sierra County Sheriff's Office is responsible for the professional care of those in our custody, the security of our courts and the prompt investigation of crime when it occurs.  It is our mission to improve and maintain the quality of life we enjoy and to ensure that our county is a safe place to live, work and visit.

We are fully dedicated to this mission, to the citizens we serve and to accept the responsibility of attaining and achieving excellence within our chosen profession.

Complaint Form

 

 

Current Employment Opportunities

Sierra County is an equal opportunity employer.

Certified Sheriff's Deputies & Uncertified Cadets

Applications are being accepted for a fulltime Certified Sheriff’s Deputies or a fulltime Uncertified Cadets in the Sierra County Sheriff’s Department until March 25, 2016. Uncertified pay: $12.65 hourly and Certified pay: $16.44 hourly.

New Mexico Law Enforcement Certification Preferred.

Benefits include participation in the Sierra County Health Insurance Program and Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA). Successful applicant must pass pre-employment physical, drug screen and background check as required for all new Sierra County employees.

Applications and job descriptions will be accepted until position(s) are filled.

Applications and job descriptions available at Sierra County Administrative Office at 855 Van Patten, Truth or Consequences, New Mexico 87901 and must be returned to same. They may also be downloaded below:

APPLICATION
CADET JOB DESCRIPTION
DEPUTY JOB DESCRIPTION

Applicants will be notified of date and time of interviews.

Sierra County is an equal opportunity employer.



Full-Time Telecommunicator Trainee

Sierra County Regional Dispatch Authority (SCRDA) 911 Dispatch is accepting applications for a Full-Time Tele communicator Trainee. MUST be able to do shift work, handle stressful situations involving life and property while under pressure. Starting pay $11.44 an hour. After successful completion of the NM Law Enforcement Academy and 4 other certifications, pay will increase to $ 12.36 an hour.

Benefits include participation in the Sierra County Health Insurance Program and Public Employees Retirement Association of New Mexico (PERA). Successful applicant must pass pre-employment physical, drug screen and background check as required for all new employees.

Applications and job descriptions will be accepted until Friday, April 1, 2016 at 5pm.

Applications and job descriptions available at Sierra County Administrative Office at 855 Van Patten, Truth or Consequences, New Mexico 87901 and must be returned to same. They may also be downloaded below:

APPLICATION
TELECOMMUNICATOR JOB DESCRIPTION

Applicants will be notified of date and time of interviews.

Sierra County is an equal opportunity employer.



 

Department Documents and Forms

 

RFPs

bottom image