SIERRA COUNTY GOVERNMENT

Assessor

100 N. Date
Truth or Consequences, NM 87901
Hours: Monday-Friday  7am-6pm

Michael Huston
Chief Deputy
575-2589 ext. 228
mhuston@sierraco.org

Dora Miranda
Senior Deputy
575-894-2589 ext. 224
dmiranda@sierraco.org

Ernestina Gomez
Appraiser
575-894-2589 ext. 231
tgomez@sierraco.org

Serina F. Bartoo
Appraiser
575-894-2589 ext. 232
sbartoo@sierraco.org

Virginia Womack
Appraiser
575-894-2589
vwomack@sierraco.org

Eloy Armijo
Addressing
575-894-2589 ext. 236
elarmijo@sierraco.org

Carolyn Lawyer
Clerk I
575-894-2589
tlawyer@sierraco.org

Trina Arvayo
Clerk I
575-894-2589
tarvayo@sierraco.org

Assessor

Keith Whitney
County Assessor
575-894-2589 x 233
kwhitney@sierraco.org

Mr. Whitney was elected County Assessor in 2010 and took office in 2011.

FIND A PROPERTY VALUATION ONLINE - the Assessor's Property Lookup Site may be searched various ways - by physical address, owner number, owner name, zip code, etc. Once you've located a record, click the Owner # to see detail on the property, including its current valuation.

The Sierra County Assessor is an elected official who determines the property value of homes, businesses, and other taxable property within the County for ad valorem tax purposes.

Property in New Mexico is classified as Residential or Non-Residential and taxed accordingly. Tax rates are determined by taxing authorities. Taxing authorities include such organizations as school districts, county hospitals, municipalities, conservancy districts and flood control authorities.

Taxable value on real and personal property is one third of the total appraised value, minus any allowable exemptions, such as Head-of-Household or Veteran's Exemptions. The Assessor administers the granting of exemptions allowable by state law.

Sierra County's property appraisers are constantly reviewing market and economic trends. New construction is added, and the values of existing land and buildings are constantly under review.

The office also prepares the tax roll for the County Treasurer for real property (land and improvements), personal property (business equipment), livestock, and mobile homes.

Notices of property valuation are required by law to be mailed out by April 1st of each year.

Please visit our "Understanding Your Property Tax Assessment" page for an explanation of exemptions, forms, and etc.  

Another useful resource is the New Mexico Taxation and Revenue website.

 

Current Employment Opportunities

Sierra County is an equal opportunity employer.

 

RFPs

bottom image